A day in the life

By Shelling

Washing

Rain on and off all day. I knew that so I've planned an indoor day. Hoovering, changing bedclothes, towels, clothes... washing. It's been a while so I had two full machines with washing and neither no outside to hang it, nor a sun to dry it in. Of course I made a fire and pulled the chair over so I could read a book while the washing dried. In between I did some editing of sound-files, some shopping and some guitar-playing. 

There's no concert ahead so I decided I wanted to try and play without my nails, something I've been wanting to try for some time. For fifty years I've kept my nails on my right hand for playing my instrument, fifty years of fear of breaking a nail right before a concert. It's happened a few times and sometimes I've had to go to a manicurist to glue on a nail. It works fine but is a bit expensive and it makes you vulnerable. Nails also gets more brittle with age and I've seen several guitarists who changed direction with good result so I decided to try it for myself. For a few days it will be very uncomfortable for the tip of the fingers, not being used to meet the string directly but it will pass and it will be interesting to see how I like it and what comes up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.