Another day, another beetroot

I pickled six more jars of beetroot today, mostly the white and gold varieties. They were so pretty to cut into - which was useful, as I hadn't been outside or thought about photos. I had planned a walk, but J's PA was unwell today, so apart from the pickling, I've spent most of the day supporting her. This morning's online art talk with her care centre was on the theme of "sense of place". J had chosen two of Monet's late Japanese bridge paintings, done when he was losing his sight and his work was more than ever a shimmer of vivid colour, light and shade, conveying only a loose impression of shape and volume; she also chose two of Van Gogh's paintings of Arles, which were among the first art works she responded to when she was very young. She had prepared some comments on her communication aid, and other members had chosen paintings by Casper David Friedrich and Kent artist Rowland Hilder as well as sharing some of their own work. Although I missed having time to get on with other things, I always like supporting her at art talk. It's well run and friendly, and my friend T is part of the group; J and I stayed online for a chat with her at the end. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.