Surprise ...

... visitor.

Richard was working around the house this afternoon while I was sitting outside photographing the birds, chippies and squirrels.  I had set myself up on the side deck with the peanuts on an old tree stump.  Coming to my peanuts were the usual bunch ... squirrels, chipmunks and blue jays. 

But then I heard the unmistaken call of the red-bellied woodpecker.  Of course, my ears perked up and I was watchful for him to come into view.  And much to my surprise he flew into our neighbors tree nearby.  I knew he wouldn't fly down the peanuts if I was visible as they simply don't to that for me!  So I packed everything up and moved into the sunroom.  I put the peanuts on another tree stump and pulled the blackout curtain that we use as a bird blind.  Again ... to my surprise this lovely woodpecker flew down repeatedly to my peanuts.  I'm sure he knew I was behind the curtain but it didn't seem to stop him!  

And to add to my surprises today we were also visited by the lovely Tufted Titmouse I've added to the Extra photos.  Please view in gallery to get the full impact of their beauty.

Later in the afternoon before supper we got out for a lovely walk along the D&L Rail Trail ... which we hadn't walked for a while. 

Backblipped: October 27 ... finally catching up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.