Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Purple Finch

I've never really understood how someone came up with purple as this finch's name - it would have been more accurate to call it "cranberry" or "raspberry" finch.  It is easily mistaken for a House Finch at first glance (see Extra) although there are some telling differences.  For starters, the shape of this finch's head is much blockier and the facial markings more distinct.  Then there is the lack of streaks on the breast of the purple finch as oppose to the very streaky breast of the house finch.  I'm blathering.  This is the first purple finch I've seen this winter although the experts predict that large numbers of this species will be moving further south out of Canada in search of food this winter.  No complaints from me.

Jax was worn out today (no wonder after his explosion of energy yesterday) and was content to nap on the sofa in front of the fire while I huddled outside in the hide for several hours.  Bliss all the way around.  We also took a little enrichment trip starting at the optometrist to pick up my contacts.  The same women I offered to give him to yesterday was working today and when she heard he was in the car, she asked to come outside to meet him.  He was predictably thrilled and gave her kisses. She was smitten, of course!  Then, we went to the pet store where he got to smell all the aisles, browse the toys, meet people and get a treat from the cashier.  He was on best behavior today.   

Hubs and I went to see his mom today at lunch.  To protect the residents, all visitors need to be masked and I think that was throwing her as she didn't recognize me.  Could also be that she wasn't feeling up to snuff today - that affects her memory.  Anyway, I assured her that I was her favorite daughter in law and we had a few laughs about this and that.  Almost all of her memories are gone, but she still retains a sense of humor and loves to be shocking  It was a good visit.  On our way home, we stopped at Burger King for Impossible (meat free) burgers.  Mine is now sitting in my stomach like a big lump.  I may have to try to fix things with a piece of something dark and minty...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.