The Old Course

I didn’t sleep well, but it was lovely to know I had nothing to get up for and as it was raining I stayed in bed and read my book.  When I eventually got up to face the day, it was transformed into a bright and breezy day.  I popped out for an early morning walk, moved the car closer and picked up a newspaper.  It felt like a treat to sit in peace, with my  breakfast and the Observer.  BB eventually appeared and the owner of our accommodation called round to make sure everything was ok.
 
Our plan for the day was to go to St Andrews.  We headed over about lunchtime and had a wander ending at the Cheesy Toast Shack, where mac and cheese toasties were purchased.    BB had one last year and has been looking forward to another one.  I had never had one until today.  It was delicious, but probably too much.  I really didn’t need to eat again all day.  You certainly couldn’t eat one very often.  BB devoured his and was finished and I hadn’t eaten half of mine.  He ended up having some of mine too.  We walked back into town and then BB was thinking of his tea!
 
We continued walking and did a circuit to Balgove and round by Strathtyrum House and back to St Andrews via the Lade Braes.  Al in all a really lovely walk, although rather breezy.  We popped to the supermarket for a  few provisions, but had picked up BB’s tea at Balgove. He was ready for his next meal when we got back and devoured a chicken curry.  I had a small salad!  I have over 30,000 steps today, which I hope will help to counter my calorie-laden lunch.  It’s been a nice start to our wee holiday.
 
There is no golf on the Old Course on a Sunday, so you are free to wander across it.
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.