Return to Euston

I was down in the garage this morning looking for some plant pots when I came across an old sweetie tin, which when opened proved to contain a selection of items which I remember digging up in the course of my gardening work at Holyrood Palace in Edinburgh, back in the early 1970s. They were mostly pieces of old clay pipes, but among them was what appears to be maybe a musket ball and a scrap of pottery which seems to be wanted back at Euston Station! I wonder what they'd say if I took it back now! Among the various bits and pieces was something I'd been looking for everywhere. It's a small phial containing gum, with a label stating "Gum from a tree in our garden in the Sudan". This was given to me many years ago by my late, great-aunt Emily, who lived in the Sudan in the 1930s, where her husband was a water engineer. I beleive that she used it as a glue for sealing letters and the like.

Another strange day weather-wise - we'd been to the local cinema to see 'Ticket to Paradise' at 12.15 this afternoon, starring Julia Roberts and George Clooney. I wasn't impressed, I'm afraid, though it got (slightly) better towards the end. It was screened in the small Screen 2 which has only 22 seats - for the first time I can remember we were the only customers! We emerged at 2.20 to a lovely sunny afternoon. We arrived home 15 minutes later to a downpour!

Back to sorting my London pictures again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.