Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Red-bellied Woodpecker

Strange that I haven't posted a red-bellied woodpecker yet this year, especially since they are a year-round bird in our yard.  Anyway, this one posed so nicely in the cherry tree and seemed like an easy choice today.  Not to mention, I wasn't feeling terribly inspired.

I tried putting seeds in my hand again today and enjoyed a fairly steady stream of little chickadees landing on my fingers to quickly grab a seed.  The titmice have yet to work up their courage for a finger-landing but I'm sure they will soon overcome their shyness.  One of the nuthatches also came in for a landing - they have very long, very sharp little toe-nails and it's  hard not to flinch when they grab hold of a finger.  Helps if you see them coming.

Had a nice long FT chat with my parents today before they headed out to do an Adventure Lab GeoCache.  Hubs went to see his mom and then later he and I took Jax for a walk.  We spent some time after the walk in the back yard with him off-leash.  He loves being able to run around and sniff everything, especially at the edge of the woods.  But to his credit, he never lets us out of his sight.  

Heading out to have dinner with some friends tonight - haven't seen them in a while and looking forward to catching up.  

Dark, plain and simple, today.,

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.