Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Happy Gotcha Day

Today is Jax's official "Gotcha Day" which commemorates the day we got him.  One year, almost 40 pounds, countless destroyed toys, one destroyed rug, many destroyed dog beds and so many kisses later...our boy, all grown up.  He was 4 months and 26 pounds when he came to live with us.  This morning when I took him to our vet for his annual shots and check up, he weighed 64 pounds which is a perfect weight for him.  He is still scared of random things (today it was the stethoscope when the vet wanted to listen to his heart) but he loves kids, adults, dogs and sniffing things.  We will spend his life trying to make those obedience lessons stick and we will be rewarded with unconditional love every step of the way.

He's definitely turned our lives upside down and he has tried my patience on many occasions - but he is my heart-dog.  I love his goofy looking ears and his joyful personality.  I love the way he tries to get as much of his body on our laps as possible and the way he bobs his head when he's done something he shouldn't.  I love the way he follows his nose when we are out walking, sniffing a world I'll never see.  

I wanted to get a photo of him in our yard today, and what I had planned was to have him sit next to a pumpkin (he's good at sit and stay).  However, the pumpkin was far too tempting and he grabbed it and ran around the yard with it.  So, new plan.  I got some nice shots of him just sitting but this is the shot I liked because you can see his tail held high, one lip tucked up, the goofy ears.  My boy.  The little shit.

Dark with ginger today.

x
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.