For all the saints

All Saints Day and November already.

I don't remember saints playing any kind of role in the Church of Scotland but the church I've been in most often in my life is the Parish Church of St. Cuthbert. The inscription is above the door through which I'd walk, or trudge, on most Sundays of my childhood.

Today I was back for the first time since 2019 to meet the daughter of my mum's late friend. She and my mum were members of the church and volunteers at The Swing, the church cafe. Once they gave up their role in the kitchen they were regular customers for their morning coffee. I don't see my coffee companion very often as she lives in London. On her visits back to Edinburgh we try to meet at The Swing and reminisce. It's always so enjoyable and we feel we're keeping up a tradition.

The minister, who conducted both our mums' funerals, stopped for a chat. In the course of the conversation he mentioned that he'd received an inscribed copy of my uncle's book, dedicated to the church. This reminded me of a tale my mum told me many years ago. For All the Saints was, she declared, my uncle's favourite hymn.

Now, why would my uncle who, to the best of my knowledge hasn't seen the inside of a church for many decades, even have a favourite hymn? (well, I suppose we all can if we have a churchgoing connection).
Why would my mum share this nugget? And why can't I dislodge the said nugget from my brain when I can't remember where I put my keys 10 minutes ago.

All that aside a very enjoyable morning though traffic going into Edinburgh was horrific. Home now and there's a Community Council meeting this afternoon. It's an online affair and only scheduled for an hour. Then Tuesday yoga.

Vaccination clinic yesterday was good. Very efficient. No ill effects so far so I'm hoping not to experience any now.

Had a few charming guisers last night and the sweeties have all gone.

Thanks for reading (if you did).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.