Windmill 'D', Schagerbrug

That's the name -- 'D'.  The polder area is divided into a kind of grid, with each section assigned a letter or letter combination.  I suppose this is very logical, as they couldn't possibly have dredged the entire area in one go, and had to do it in sections.  This windmill happens to be standing in Section D, so it's simply called Windmill 'D'.  Very efficient, but could have been approached more creatively.  Why not 'Divina' or 'Desdemona' or 'Dingaling'?

The mill was open to visitors, so there was a constant coming and going, and the miller and his wife were kept busy.  I did not have all that much time, as it's a long way away, and it's not as though I've never been inside a mill, so I just focused on taking pictures.  There is a grassy field beside it, as you can see, so I slipped through the bars of the gate and clicked away.  Perfect weather!  This changed in the course of the day, and it has been showering, and raining, the whole evening.  Quite a difference.

Back in the south, it was AW's turn with the car as well as his turn to get a booster shot.  It can be a challenge setting an appointment.  Depending on any given day, we could be given a spot in Rotterdam or Waalwijk or Eindhoven.  AW asked me to 'fix things', so I simply kept at it until he got a spot right here in town.

Kitchen duties, hand-washed laundry, some communication with work in connection with benchmarking for the correction of the exams, some gaming, and the rest of the time was used for genealogical research.  Am now busy formatting the very first section, working alphabetically, and I've had to decide on lay-out adjustments, wording, and referencing.  All that work to help Sluggo has kicked my motivation into high gear.  It will be something to do in the rainy days ahead.  Aside from work, that is.  Speaking of which... doing something really nice for myself will distract me from feeling lousy.  I've also phoned the employment agency and made an appointment for next week.

Thank you all so much for your birthday greetings for AW!  He's chuffed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.