Keeping watch!

I've had a very busy day today which started with an early morning gym session, followed by my final French lesson. I've been having lessons with Christine for over 4 years, but as our time in Belgium is coming to an end, and the next couple of months are going to be busy preparing for our move, Christine suggested there was no need for me to continue until the end of term.

She has become a good friend as well as my teacher and I shall miss our regular 'chats'. I had a lump in my throat when I said 'Au Revoir', which is the first of many sad farewells to come, but on the upside, we've arranged to meet for lunch before we leave, and I very much hope we'll keep in touch afterwards.

Then I went to Chateau la Hulpe for lunch with a couple of friends. The forecast was for rain today but it was very warm and sunny, so we sat outside for lunch and then set off for a walk around the lake and through the forest. It very quickly became dark and we were only half way round when there was a thunder storm and it started raining very heavily. None of us had coats or umbrellas and the trees didn't provide much shelter so we got soaked! Anthea had cycled through the forest to meet us, so she then had to ride home with wet pants and a wet seat!

Perfect weather for ducks though, and there were plenty around. I got some nice shots of a Heron on the other side of the lake, but I love this family of Great Crested Grebes. The chicks are so cute with their stripes and Mum is definitely keeping watch to guard her babies!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.