Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Behind you!

When I met the kayakers yesterday, I learned about the Tyne Tour, a weekend event for paddlers of all sorts. It is based in Hexham.

Today, a large number of boats took to the water at Bellingham and paddled to Hexham. I went to the bridge at Chollerford, just 30 minutes from our front door, hoping to see some of them.

I was not disappointed. I think they were going into the water at Bellingham at intervals and then paddling south with their friends. The atmosphere was very relaxed. Lots of the kayakers waved to me.

While I was concentrating on the boat in the foreground, I became aware of more activity in the background. I was able to shoot several shots as the boat stood on end and was then brought under control. (Was it a genuine tumble or a stunt? I don't know, but none of the other people on the water paid any attention!)

In my extra, you can see how the boats clustered together before each one braved the weir at Chollerford.

I did some printing this morning. I successfully profiled a gloss paper and then persuaded the printer to start gripping the paper. I'm reasonably happy with the results. Hooray!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.