More Foliage

It's always amazing to me how quickly new green shoots begin to appear in the dry landscape as soon as we get even a little bit of rain. This little fern is growing out of an almost vertical bank next to the Spike walk. We were there a few days ago and there was no sign of these ferns which will soon form a curtain as they grow larger. The dry leaves have somehow managed to stick to the bank and form a nice compost for all kinds of new life.

It was sunny, if not warm when we set out this  morning. The clocks went back to Pacific Standard time which gave us, as the weather people are fond of saying, 'an extra hour's sleep', but of course it doesn't because we still wake up when we are used to waking up. It will only be about five months before we spring forward again. After some discussion, John and I decided that it really isn't that hard to adjust to a one hour change and we would just as soon leave it as it is. Most of our devices change the time automatically, but I have to get out the owners' manual twice a year to remind me how to change the time in the car. I know how to change the time on the thermostat for the furnace, but for some reason it is declining to cooperate.

More rain is predicted for tonight and as darkness falls a cold wind is blowing clouds in straight from Alaska.

I'm trying to shape up my boys who are both looking like ragamuffins. 
While I waited for John to finish his shower so we could continue the closet culling, I gave Spike a trim. This is done in a most unprofessional manner, both of us sprawled on the bed, while I attempt to trim off the fur on his  belly which was almost touching the ground. He seemed to be in a state of bliss. I felt like a contortionist....

We filled three bags full of clothes that John hasn't worn in decades and that no longer fit him. Still more to go but we have run out of laundry soap, a convenient excuse for John to wander off protesting that he has lots of clothes. Yes, I agreed, but 50% of them haven't fit you, nor have you worn them, in twenty years! I think he is finally beginning to realize that a garment hanging on the rack gathering dust, or a worn out t-shirt with a fraying neck are no longer fit for purpose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.