First fire of the season

It isn’t very cold, but I decided that tonight it would be nice to have a fire. Our fireplace is pretty (another of Jon’s excellent diy jobs a few years ago) but it really doesn’t give out much heat. For that reason we had considered changing it for a wood burner. So far, we haven’t done anything about it, but it’s something we will eventually get round to. A chat with a local installer to get an idea of cost. I’ve done some research and it’s not cheap, but if it were to replace our central heating for a chunk of the year, then it may pay for itself.

I did a long day at work. Jon went in to the city and stayed quite late, as he had a meeting with someone after dark, so that he could see if some of his trees were affecting some street lighting. I hate him coming back on his motorbike in the dark. Henry has said that he is using his bike tomorrow too - so two to worry about.

I’ve cooked a couple of fimo mice in acorns and walnuts, so they need to be glued now. I think I’ll just sit and make a few more this evening - even though I don’t really have anywhere to sell them. It’s easy to do while watching the tv.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.