Dragon Fly - Mannington

I finished my book this morning – Lessons in Chemistry, which I have really enjoyed.  I considered a run, but I talked myself out of it, as it was just too hot.  TT did run.  He’s mad!
 
TT and I spent the morning in Holt doing some wandering and shopping.  Top of TT’s list was a visit to the  Adnams  shop.  Before we departed I picked up some very over-priced pasties for lunch and also dared to pop into the over-priced supermarket.  The pasties were delicious – if rather small.  I am sure we could have eaten two each!
 
In the afternoon, TT and I went for a local walk, taking some of the tracks and paths which he had explored on his morning runs.  Our first port of call was Mannington House and Garden, which we approached on the tracks and board walk through the water meadow only to find it was closed.  How very disappointing as I had been looking forward to a wander around the gardens and a refreshment from the cafe.  Never mind, we continued our walk to the next village where we knew there was a lovely pub.  It was also closed.  No luck for us today.  We walked back into the village a picked up some drinks from the lovely shop and then examined the map to find an alternative route back.  That took us through a wood and I was never quite sure we were going in the right direction, but lo and behold we eventually emerged onto a track which was familiar to TT which took us in the right direction and we eventually made it back home.  We had a good walk, it’s just a shame that nowhere was open.  To make up for everywhere being closed being closed, we had gins and tonics in the new glasses we bought this morning.  A perfect way to cool down and reydrate!
 
Later I made tea  while the boys watched more football.
 
We spotted this dragonfly as we walked though the water meadow.  There were very noisy frogs, but we couldn't see them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.