Soap Making

Jo and I did a soap making lesson today. It may sound like a un-blokey kind of thing to do but it is something I have wanted to know for a while now. Why I am not sure. Anyway, I made a very manly handsoap for the garage. Jo made something girly smelling. All in all it was a relatively inexpensive 3 hours of fun and we came away with some new knowledge as well as a kilogram of soap each.

We learned how to make sop from scratch with all the ingredients, water oil and lye as well as adding essential oils and in my case, pumice for extra dirty hands.

Then we were shown the easier method call hot pour or something like that. I made peppermint soap that time.

Now we are off to some friends of ours a few streets away and I suspect we will be drinking that French champagne I blipped yesterday. SO the rest of today will probably be a write-off.

The one thing I wanted to do this morning was pull the barrel back off the TT (I keep going to call it my bike which it isn't anymore), and put a new base gasket on rather than recycle the old one. I have the whole gasket kit after all so I really should use it. With a little help from Jo I managed to do just that before we went out. Depending on my condition when I get home, I might do a bit more tonight.

We are back to blustery, rainy weather again today. Golf is not looking good for tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.