Garden Work Day 10

I'd intended to go for a walk today, but by the time I'd finished in the garden I was too tired.

The main task was to get the lawn area roughly level and lower it slightly so that there's room for a couple of inches of topsoil. I scraped off all the bits that were contaminated with cement, plus the lumps of red clay and other nasties and used it to fill where I'd removed the rubble yesterday. 

See the wall at the righthand side of the photo? After I'd blocked behind it level with next door's post, I used a lot of the subsoil to backfill behind the wall up to the level of their bottom gravel board. The gardens all slope, and if I hadn't done anything it's possible that their flowerbed would eventually be washed under the gravel board and therefore sink!

While I was in that corner I noticed that the end cap had come off the sill of the patio window and, wait for it, there was a crack in the sill. Only a small one admittedly, and I'm not going to do anything about it as it's not where the door opens, but very annoying and I think I'll knock something off the balance due. I'll ask bossman what he thinks is reasonable, the window is only two years old.

The workmen used my hose last week, before their own turned up, but I want them to coil it properly for me, as it was. This is why I don't use it myself, because it's so awkward and unruly!

So I've got a list of things for them to do tomorrow.... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.