Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Last Solider Standing

It's a mystery to me why this one flower is still standing, even in spite of a freeze last night.  In fairness, it hasn't opened all the way, and most of the leaves are yellow and sad looking.  But this one bloom...still standing.  I put the pot with the flower on the railing of our deck with a big pine tree behind it, providing a nice green background. If you didn't know better, you might even think this was a summer day.  I took two images and stacked them to broaden the depth of field a little.  Nothing really special about this, but fine for today.

I continue to be in a photographic slump at the moment.  I think this happens every year at this time - no more flowers in the garden, no more interesting insects, and all the cool summer migrants are long gone.  

Jax is being demanding today - he's currently making what I think of as his seal-noises right now, designed to get me to play with him or do something to entertain him.  So back out into the yard I think to play some games of fetch.  

I think dark, plain and simple, today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.