An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

It's the final countdown...

Well I've managed to do it again....go to bed fine and wake up in agony!

Actually, that's not strictly true.  I felt a dull ache in my left shoulder blade as the evening wore on last night and when I went to bed I couldn't lie on my left side (my usual sleeping position) as it was a bit uncomfortable, so tried to sleep on my right side without much success.  Eventually took some painkillers at 3am then managed to sleep till my alarm went off at the ridiculous hour of 5.40am!  Early rise as Tesco were releasing their Christmas delivery slots at 6.00am.

When I logged on at 5.45am I was number 33,027 in the queue.  Better than last year when I started off at 50, 011th!  Finally secured my delivery slot for 23rd December at 6.42am.  An early rise but I would much rather than than have to physically go to the supermarket at Christmas!

Realised on waking my shoulder was agony so took more painkillers and tried to get back to sleep.  Had quite a disturbed sleep (dreaming I was cooking a roast dinner with Gordon Ramsay!) and woke at 9am.  Managed to get showered and dressed slowly.

So it's not been the most productive of days.  

That said, D brought through to the kitchen all the little bits and pieces I've been buying for Christmas so I could take a proper note of what's been bought for who, as proper Christmas shopping shall be commencing in the next few days.  

Billy, our wonderful painter and decorator, and his team are arriving tomorrow to touch up all the ceilings that have been left water stained from leaks in the roof (thankfully all fixed now since the roof was replaced :-) He will also paint the smaller of the guest bedrooms and our ensuite, so had to choose colours for them.  Can't remember what we put in our ensuite last time and I really like it, so hoping the paint I've gone with is the right one!

The guest room was painted a very faint shade of sea blue the last time but I actually meant it to be slightly greener so D will get some testers tomorrow.  I've narrowed it down to 4, which is good for me as usually there's about 10 testers.  They end up costing more than the actual paint to paint the room!  

I usually keep a note of the colours we use but for some reason I didn't for those two rooms.  I will this time!

The rest of the day has been spent with me snoozing on my chair alternating between an ice pack and a hot water bottle on my back.  Between that and more painkillers the pain has eased slightly.  I am hoping it goes as quickly as it came!

Watched the final of the Great British Bake Off.  The right person won, but I think the standard was much lower this year, over the whole series.  

Then watched I'm a Celebrity.  OMG!  The trial!  I was sore laughing! 

Now time for a final ice pack before bed and I will take the hot water bottle up with me.

Apologies for the very dull blip but I like having a record so I can check up on this year's situation next year :-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.