Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Golden leaves

It has been a busy day again. After three days of soaking the fruit and orange zest in sherry, I could finally make my Christmas cake today. I had forgotten how hard it was to stir the mixture, all that fruit makes it very dense and heavy and although I had already done my gym exercises this morning but I got another arm workout making the cake! It smelled amazing as it was baking, just a pity I won't be able to try any of it as I made it with normal flour.

While the cake was baking I went and did some grocery shopping for the weekend - we are going away to Norfolk tomorrow for the weekend and I want to cook something tonight to take with, and then have planned ingredients for Saturday night's meal. 

Xena had a lovely walk with P the dog walker this morning but she came home very muddy from playing with the other dogs so I had to give her a good wash. It has not rained today, and has been sunny at times. The afternoon was lovely and sunny when I took Xena out again for another walk.

I have packed my camera equipment and thrown a few things into a bag for the weekend, and now I must start preparing the food for tomorrow. 

The weekend looks cold and wet but you never know, I may get to see a sunset on the coast. We have not been for ages as Gavin has been so busy. We are leaving very early tomorrow morning as he has some online meetings tomorrow so wants to get there in time to do his meetings.

In other news, my niece's two year old little boy fell at nursery school yesterday and he has broken his leg. The poor toddler is in a cast from his toes to above his knee and he cannot walk or put pressure on it, not easy for a two year old to understand that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.