The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The second-last week of the course

This is my preferred book cover image of the many second hand editions available. We are reading this as the final book in our 'Irish country house in literature and social history course'. Last night I stayed up until 12.34 am reading up to the end of chapter ten so I could comment on it. During the second hour of the course I got cozy on the sofa, listened to chapters 1-5 being discussed, then snoozed, and woke up to hear the tutor discussing chapter ten! Luckily he noticed I'd woken, and asked for my comment, so it wasn't wasted.

Have decided that maybe it's not the best use of money to force myself to read books, and race back from work, never quite on time, to attend a zoom course. Maybe when we get more office space at work  I'll extend my working hours on Thursday, have the whole of Friday off, and do one-off courses on mirthy.co.uk at low cost. They are usually recorded, so I can catch up if I miss them. There's a monthly book group, too. I'm getting into my cozy winter routine.  We don't have the heating on much, but I do have my electric throw on sometimes for a short while.

Colleague and I visited a client in the sticks today. Client had a lot of home gym equipment, so we tried it out while we all chatted. Sometimes this type of approach is needed. I particularly liked the Air Walker. While we were there, a poultry inspector came round to ask if anyone on the  converted farm site kept any poultry. He would have been checking to see that it was all.locked up, because of avian flu.

Also of note today: I saw M, who used to go to the nursery I worked at, today. He is in his second year of primary school now, and wasn't too shy to chat to me. He told me that his best friend is J. J also went to our nursery, left, had a disrupted educational start at school because of the pandemic,and  ended up coming back to nursery for half a year. I'm glad that  school is finally working out for J  and his sister. It is always lovely to see them again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.