Holt Christmas Lights

I had a regular work day spent at my newly tidied desk (tidied and turned around yesterday when I was off)

Had a short lunchbreak sitting with Ralph in the conservatory. It is cold, but so much brighter than the rest of the house. A short afternoon and I finished at 4.30 and pestered Jon to finish. Mollie got back from work at the same time and we headed in to Holt at 5.30. It is always chockablock but we got a space to park, not too far from the high street where it was alive with music and people. The Christmas lights in Holt are all white, and just stunning. We used to bring the children when they were little - a deliberate drive out after dark through the high street just to see them. Tonight was no different.

We started with food. Then had a wander round some shops that had stayed open late, especially for the occasion, which was nice. I even picked up a Christmas present. We met Josh and Henry who had arrived separately under their own steam (well, petrol really, not steam!)

Then we all positioned ourselves in the crowd, facing the war memorial in front of which this lorry was set up as a stage. A chat by the local vicar, then the local santa, followed by the countdown, and the lights came on, and 10 minutes of fireworks.

Lots of Christmas music which we couldn't help singing along to. Although I'm not rushing to put my tree up now we are home. Who is paying the Holt electricity bill? That's an increase in next years council tax no doubt. Maybe they will limit the hours the lights are on.

I have a few more tiny mice to make this evening. Heading in to Norwich in the morning to meet up with Jane my friend from work who I haven't seen for a long while. So I mustn't be too late to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.