The White Garden

Heavy frost this morning and the temp never got up to 0°C today, so when I came home this afternoon our garden was still well-covered in frost.
In this picture it is mainly oregano, with a couple of poppy seedheads on the left. I'm fairly sure the oregano will wilt under the frost onslaught, though it will come up next spring.
I've been at a Planning and Works Committee today which was interesting but there was nothing too controversial. We have one more meeting before the new team take over and I noted a definite lessening of focus. Most of what we discuss now will be eventually decided by the new team so it's hard to invest too much enthusiasm.
Another film this evening; The Wizard of Oz. This is rated as the film seen by the most people in the world, as it is both old (1939) and a popular classic, and an icon that has informed so much else in our modern world. I saw it when I was very young (6 or 7) and it terrified me. Seeing it today I understand why I was terrified, especially as it may have been my first trip to the cinema!  Another scary side to the film was the attitudes towards the actors with poisonous make-up, stunts that went wrong so actors ended up in balls of fire, and asbestos rained down on the actors as artificial snow. 
Hopefully we'll be getting our own healthy and natural snow on Sunday :-)  Could this be winter starting?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.