FENWICKS WINDOW

The weather was much better today.  I was pleased it wasn't raining when I walked to Cafe Lutz to meet up with my brother J.  It took me about 15 mins to get there - my brother had a 10 min drive.

We had a lovely catch up.  Its ages since Ive seen him.  He's kept himself busy while he's been on his own.  Lots of golf, gardening, dog walking and DIY around the house.  He was even busy today as after leaving me he was off to try and fix his daughters boyfriends car, then take the dogs for a long walk and this evening he was out a  Golf Club " do".  He's going to be on his own for a while longer yet as my sister in law V will be staying in Australia until March.  Shes been there since May supporting my niece who is receiving treatment for a brain tumour. .My nieces 5th round of chemo has been delayed due to her platelet levels being low - hopefully it will go ahead next week.  So V's return is delayed.  My brother is going to fly out to Oz in February to spend a couple of weeks there and he and V will fly home together.

My brother gave me a lift home and after hanging up a load of washing I got the bus to Newcastle.  I had a click and collect order to pick up at The Body Shop. 

Then I popped into Fenwicks department store to look in their Christmas shop in the basement.  I got two packs of Christmassy dog treats for Luna.  Then I went outside to look at the Christmas windows.  Fenwicks have has special Christmas themed windows since 1971 and Ive seen every one of them.  The previous themes have included Beatrix Potter, Paddington Bear, The Snowman, The Wind In The Willows and Charlie and The Chocolate Factory. This year its  Clarice Bean: Think Like an Elf. The story was created by Lauren Child best known for the Charlie and Lola books.  I think this years window is my least favourite.  It just doesn't feel very festive and in previous years there have been lots of moving parts but this year theres hardly any.  But Im sure it will still be popular - especially with children- and that's what's important.

When I came home on the bus the sky was wonderful.  So bright with beautiful pink colours.  A real change from the same time yesterday when it was rainy, dark and dismal.

Steps today - 11,712

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.