The sleepover

Weeks ago we arranged to have Frieda staying overnight today, so that Jack and Marianna could have a relaxed night out.  M's brother Spyro and partner Mike are visiting from their home in Devon, so it was a good opportunity for them all to go out together.
We had a lovely time, just going through the ordinary cycle - early teatime, a long playtime in the bath, some stories. After story no 3, Frieda said "I can go to sleep now", turned over and dropped off. I found this amazing, as similar moments with Eben have usually involved a long cycle of "just one more story...".  To be fair to Eben, he doesn't find it easy to get to sleep.
This is a backblip being uploaded on Saturday, so I can also say that we later had some very wakeful times between 1.30 a.m. and 3 a.m. I don't think F was fully awake for most of that time, but she was restless. I climbed into bed with her and we both did go back to sleep properly after a while. When she woke up properly just after 7, Richard took her downstairs for breakfast while I surfaced slowly.  Then after Marianna collected her at 10, I went straight back to bed for 2 hours. The perks of grandparenthood: there's time to recover from a broken night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.