After The Rain

I was still feeling rather under the weather this morning.  It was still raining and was really dark, so  I struggled to get myself out of bed to make sure BB was getting ready for school.   Once he was off to school, I did a few chores.  Many housewifely tasks have gone by the wayside these past few weeks while I have been incapacitated.  Given the awful weather and my inability to run, I didn’t mind catching up with the chores and some cooking.  I had made no plans and had no desire to go out anywhere given the rain.  Roads around us were flooded, in fact our own road was like a loch.
 
I was contemplating going to get some lunch when BB appeared home from school, a little damp.  It was dress down today for Children in Need, so he wore shorts – so he had wet legs that were easily dried off.  I drove down into town to get lunch.  The path from the car park to the main street, was like a river.  The sandwich shop was quiet – the rain must have kept customers away. 
 
The rain stopped later in the afternoon and I risked a walk down to the river.  It was very high and very full and very fast flowing.  The day certainly brightened up a bit, but it was so late in the day, that it was soon dark.
 
TT should have been going to a fancy dinner tonight, but he had sent his apologies.  We all had a very quiet Friday evening.
 
The river in the late afternoon light, after the rain had stopped.   You can’t see the weirs in the two extras, there is just too much water!
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.