Ancient Tulips

Today was open studio day. I knew I wanted to do some small studies of Big Rock Garden or Park so the first thing I did was to put some of my photos into my iPad. I love using the photos on my iPad as reference. They are so much easier to use than the old printed ones I used to use.

I chose one of the path in Big Rock Park near to where I've been looking at the woodpeckers. I did a fast 8 inch by 10 inch painting and was finished before lunch. Cathy, who was painting next to me, asked if I'd sell the painting and what was my price. I told her and the painting was sold. :) I forgot to photograph it and Cathy took it home with her at the end of the day.

In the afternoon I got about half way through a second painting, 10 inches by 8. After that I photographed two of my friends' paintings for the upcoming "Nature in the Balance" show at the Whatcom Museum. Then I went to my buddy Helen's house to help her enter her painting that I photographed last week.

It was a busy day. So when I got home I decided to use the old tulips in a vase that were sitting on our dining room table. I chose this black and white version as my favorite. Press L for the larger version.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.