An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Shadows on the Long Bridge

Revisiting the Bridge Over Troubled Waters Blip just after sunrise and with cloudy, then wind and rain later forecast, I was struck by the near-horizontal sun casting this amazing shadow.

I so was going to have this in the original warm colour but in the end, this high-contrast mono version won, emphasizing what had drawn me to the shot. Not been cropped or straightened, I'm quite pleased with the neat symmetry that a shot like this demands. I also had to ensure that the sheep in the watermeadows beyond were in a reasonable position too. The path leads to a view and so that view has to work also.

I'm so wishing for a day when I don't feel unwell at some point - for as long as I can recall now and often I'd just like to not have a headache or nausea/dizziness and just go out walking all day. I can do these shots as I know the locations so well and can walk the mile or so at almost the drop of a hat. The likes of the Sarum May Day sunrise shoot are exceptions where adrenalin take over and the good that such can do - as well as the huge overwhelming Blip response - Thanks again!! - more than makes up and keeps one topped up and carrying on.

Today, the local paper comes out and MAY have my picture in it - I will let you all know if it has and a link to a picture of what they have printed.

Lens is short end of Sigma EX 70-200mm f2.8, handheld and stopped down a fair bit.

Thanks to ALL who viewed and got my Through the Arch up into the Spotlight, yesterday - am grateful to all! This was a far more instantaneous shot...

Look LARGE if you'd like.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.