The Lindisfarne Gospels

LauraMuir, Mr hazelh and I enjoyed a grand day out in Newcastle today. Our schedule was as follows:

07:45 breakfast with Winsford
08:15 set off for Waverley
09:05 train to Newcastle
10:35 arrival in Newcastle
10:45 tea/coffee at the Laing Art Gallery (but no scone for me - it was inedible)
11:30 Lindisfarne Gospel exhibition
12:30 quick trip around the permanent exhibition
13:15 arrival at Blackfriars restaurant for a wonderful lunch (I had duck, sole, and chocolate mousse)
15:52 train north again
17:25 arrival back in Edinburgh
17:50 home

I have seen the Gospels (blipped) before at the British LIbrary, but it was good to view them in a special exhibition. I particularly enjoyed the two films that framed the 'visitor experience'.

Exercise today: walking (12,498 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.