Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yippee!

It's always nice when you can find a non-invasive insect this time of year so I was very happy when I spotted the tiniest fleck of reddish-orange in the mulch.  It was actually a little small to see without magnification and were it not for the color, I'd never had seen it.  So I know you're dying to know what it is - a nymph form of a Small Milkweed Bug.  I found several nymphs and one adult in the mulch - see Extra for the adult.  I know that the adults can overwinter in a protected spot but I am uncertain if nymphs do the same.  It seems they might since I found several this late in the year.  An interesting tidbit that I learned is that they sometimes eat one another and will also prey on the bodies of other dead insects.  Creepy but also kind of cool - they don't have actual chewing mouths, just a "sucking mouthpart" so the fact that they can feed on carrion is kind of remarkable.  

Jax got all checked in at the Doggy Motel by mid-morning.  In typical fashion, he happily ran back into the kennel area with the two young ladies who work there, tail wagging and not a single backwards glance my way.  Which is good since I was feeling a little sad about leaving him there.  The owner told me they are full this weekend so that means he should have some good play opportunities.  The house definitely seems quiet without him although I think the cats are happy with that.  

I've been off my "anti-cancer" drugs for a week now and I think I am starting to feel some improvement in my hands.  My oncologist is giving me a month off the drugs to allow my body to reset.  Part of my lack of photo mojo has been that my hands really do hurt and handling the camera is hard.  I probably won't be able to continue with drugs in this group based on the way I've reacted to 2 of the 3 available drugs.  So we shall see what is next.  

I think plain dark today...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.