A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Coming in to land.

I was really surprised when this came out in focus as I am sure I took a step back as it looked as though he was going to fly straight into me!

This is my third surprise bird blip this week. We were doing our usual early Thursday walk around the St Ives estate this morning and it was bright and breezy, though a little cooler than of late. As ever we ended up at Coppice Pond. There is a feeding station at this point and only a couple of ducks were in evidence when we arrived. The honking noise of this Canadian goose announced his intention to come an see what we had on offer as he flew over from the island where most of them seem to be nesting this year. I was just there with my camera and as I said was quite surprised by the resulting shot. He looks to have a disproportionately small head to his body in this shot but he could certainly make plenty of noise.

Lots of other ducks appeared of course but no geese. Pleased to say that the ducklings from last week were still there and keeping well clear of this guy whilst making sure they got their share of the spoils.

BEST LARGE

This was the best bit of the day, it is raining heavily now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.