A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Glow!

A full day with a nice start walking with the ladies at 7.15 am in the St Ives Estate. It was a fine morning but I felt it might be ‘Muck’ boot time under foot.

I popped into Bingley after breakfast for a few more Christmassy bits and when I got back cleaned the front steps. Chris does a wonderful job with plants in pots on the steps ( we don’t use the front door) but cleaning up afterwards doesn’t seem to be part of the remit! Whilst I was still in outdoor clothes I decided to do a last bit of leaf raking. They are not quite all gone but I think that will do.

Came in for a coffee and noticed it was getting windy. A weather front had been forecast for the afternoon and this was the start of it. As we set off to Ilkley cinema it had just started to rain. We saw The Lost King which I enjoyed having read a bit recently about the Plantagenet kings.

Perfect timing, the rain had passed when we came out of the cinema and headed over to RHS Harlow Carr where I had booked a 5.00 pm entry to ‘Glow’, got there bang on time!

A fine, dry evening and not too cold as the wind had dropped. Excellent as usual and I think the effect was a bit better as  quite a lot of leaves were still on the trees and bushes as seen in the blip. Last year we didn’t get there till after Christmas and all the leaves were gone by then.
Better resolution in large.

A good hours stroll around and then home via the Wetherby Whaler for fish and chips for which we were well and truly ready!

In the extra is one of the bigger trees looking lovely bathed in silver light and one Chris took of me going through an illuminated arch. I will make a Flickr album of the rest later.

Happy Thanksgiving American friends 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.