Hipster Leith

I decided on a new tag today: hipster Leith. I've gone back and tagged old blips, notably street art, various Leith Walk shops, and a few miscellanea which speak of hipsterness. It has really struck me on recent walks and activities at the weekend. Today, I pottered down Bangor Road, dropped some books off in the Edinburgh Community Bookshop (and bought one book, so that's ok as it's more out than in....), visited a couple of bakeries, passed by another bookshop, had a look inside another shop which I never thought would last which is selling some calendar about Abandoned Trolleys...., picked up some beers in Cornelius Beers, and finally bought some potting material for cacti and succulents from Seb's Urban Jungle, which I don't believe I've yet blipped.... How things have changed in the 17 years since we moved here. Although some things are still quite the same....

This was as active as I got today. I got up pretty late by my standards (that is to say, after 8am) and mostly I've pootled around in the flat. I ordered a few things online that are needed for Tain. I chose some photos that we are going to print out to put in frames on the walls in Tain. I renewed our membership of the Vaults and arranged a night out there with meles and DaveH (and arranged another night out next week, which is looking as if it is going to be quite busy). I cooked a pork and apple casserole using E's apples, which was really tasty. I've finished The Book of Form and Emptiness, which is the book I chose for December's book group (and which I purchased second hand from the Edinburgh Community Bookshop a few weeks ago). I sorted out a couple of things on the balcony, although I didn't clear up any of the dead leaves that do really need clearing. Or wash the dirty windows. I might do those things tomorrow, plus I hope also to do some work and do a peleton workout. But hey, it's been a busy week and this is the first weekend I've had here since the end of October, and that weekend was "marked" by a trip to IKEA and Dunhelm. So it was a pleasure just to be able to let things be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.