Windmill 'De Zwaan', Lienden

'Zwaan' = 'swan'.
A tower mill built in 1644.  It is one of only four tower mills in the whole country.  I shot my first one close to Maastricht -- https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2823502884795058630, which I likened to a spray can.  This windmill close to Maastricht is actually the southernmost windmill in The Netherlands.  Now, I'm curious as to where the remaining two are located.  I could look it up anytime, but I do not need the pressure to go after them.  All in good time, and I like to be surprised anyway.  Lienden is not close to Maastricht at all, so district or province has naught to do with it.

The Swan is located in a bit of an awkward spot, fenced inside a residential area (as are a good number I've already seen, as you know) so the best way to get this semi-frontal shot was across the playground of the local primary school.  There were a handful of children having fun and I made sure to steer clear of them.  It's not always a neutral thing to get 'caught' inside a playground where there are children and one has a camera and is actively taking pictures.  This was shot in the late morning and I was glad I took the chance, because thick clouds arrived mid-afternoon and it rained and showered continuously till late at night.

Most of the day was used catching up with the bookkeeping, and there was a lot to catch up on and cross-check.  Of course, the bank accounts should have all the info, but I had to make sure some things were what they were supposed to be -- 'What exactly was purchased at that spot on that day' and 'Why did I have to fill up there?'.  More often than not, this daily blog proved to be a huge help.

Tomorrow, I'll be taking a day trip with the bus!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.