Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Walk the World

(2/12/22)

Wow. What a day. I'll try to be as brief as possible.

We are coming up to Black Friday, and I am inundated with emails about offers. I thought we ought to capitalise on any that apply to us, so after G finished school, we headed to Festival City - IKEA and Carrefour.

We finally got the sheets I've been looking at for months from IKEA, then over to Carrefour, but they didn't have anything special, so we got what we needed and came home for lunch.

It wasn't long before we had to head out again - pretty much to the area where G goes to work everyday. We had to wear our "Walk the World" t-shirts. The company has this initiative of each office doing a walk, the proceeds of which go to that office's chosen charity. In Dubai, they paid Al Noor £10 for each participant. I registered G & me for the 5 km walk. In my current state, I didn't think I would manage 5kms, let alone 10!

Anyway, we got there for 2PM and registered. There was a group photo taken, which I will try to post if it gets shared with everyone.

The walk wasn't strenuous, but the afternoon heat took it's toll. It finished with a "party" at an outlet on Kite Beach. Poor guys - they tried their best to feed us all at the same time, but they couldn't get their act together.

G & I left. We were so shattered - So much so I wanted to get a taxi back to the car. It wasn't meant to be! I ordered one through a local app, but it was a disaster. The driver picked someone else up - not asking her name, but just whether she had ordered a taxi!

By the time we got back to the car, we'd done 7kms. Not bad. Back home to crash out. TGIF!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.