Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Ultrawide screen

(3/12/22)

Well, we both survived yesterday's walk! I found out today just how unwell G really was, so the fact that she even went and then kept encouraging me not to give up was something.

Before registering for the walk, I had booked two Amazon home services. The first was a handyman to do a few jobs that are beyond me. The second was a head, neck and shoulders massage. All attempted because Amazon claim "professionals are waiting in your area to serve you." Yeah, right.

The first called ten minutes before the appointment to say he was going to be ninety minutes late. I couldn't entertain that because I already had something booked for that time. We went back and forth, and it finally emerged that despite booking the appointment a week ago, they had double-booked themselves and opted to go to the other clients. (Their first excuse was that the vehicle had broken down). Oh well. C'est la vie.

The massage lady did pretty much the same. She arrived 40 minutes late because she couldn't find the place (no help having three shops on the ground floor - argh). Anyway, she came with just a small bottle of essential oil. We got through the 30 minute massage, which I have to say, was much needed, especially as I do a desk job. The service was advertised as the technician bringing a table, towels and soothing music. When I asked her about it, she said the other lady from the salon had gone to another client with the equipment. What can you say?

That was the morning. G finally emerged out of her room, and we had lunch. One of the things that arrived in the morning was an ultrawide monitor. I had been looking at it for a few months, but despite not being too pricey, it wasn't an expense I needed at the moment, but when the price dropped significantly, thanks to a Black Friday deal, I decided to go for it.

Well, what a useful piece of kit for my desk! I now effectively have four screens! So thrilled I have done this, as it will help me a lot. As I had a monitor going spare, I reorganised G's desk for her, so we both have new work spaces. The day turned out good in the end. :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.