Glasgow

My routine changed today - no Parkrun. I had to be at my cousin Mike’s house in Glasgow for 11:30, so it was not possible to do both. 

In fact I left home at 8:30 and was at the Burrell Collection when it opened at 10:00. Espresso, a croissant and culture. Three Rodins before 10:30. The Collection has been closed for several years for refurbishment of the building, and only re-opened earlier this year. 

I was living in that part of Glasgow when it opened in the 1980s, so it is an old friend. 

Then I crossed the river to collect Mike and we headed for Roastit Bubbly Jocks to have brunch. It was excellent - eggs Benedict in my case.  

Our next stop (crossing the river again) was Church on the Hill in Langside for a quick refreshment before heading to the National Stadium at Hampden to watch Queen’s Park take on Hamilton Academical. It was an excellent performance (4-0 win) by Queen’s Park, so I am glad I decided to go and that I arranged a good day out around it.  

I was home about 7pm after a brief stop at Mike’s house to say hello to his wife, daughter and grandsons. 

It was a long day, but lots of fun. 

The Blip is the first Rodin most visitors see at The Burrell. The exterior of the building is one of the Extras and an interior view is another. The last Extra is a crowd of 3,200 in a stadium with a 50,000 capacity. 








 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.