-9 C/15 F

It is warming up!
My short walk felt so much more
comfortable - yeah!

~carliewired

My world looked very dismal this morning when I woke up. There was a slight chance we might see some sun today after noon, so I really dragged my feet. I made coffee....I made scrambled eggs...I scraped the driveway with my daughter.....Finally, I had to recognize the failure in the forecast and just launch into the grey with my camera. 

I drove across the bridge to Mission Flats, making my first stop at the railway crossing with a view to Rabbit Island. The Thompson River is such a slender, shallow channel. Most of the river is snowy sandbars. The sagebrush along the river's edge is capped with snow. I got my mountains in the background. 

I drove further with a hope to finding eagles. I found several on the trees beside the river. The first tree held four eagles, both mature and juvenile. The second tree was the same. I parked underneath the first tree and walked along the road's shoulder to get a closer look. They would call to each other. One or two would set off over the river, do a quick turn and come back to the tree. I managed to get a portrait shot of one of the mature eagles. Then I headed for home. 

I am home for the day. There's chicken marinating in the fridge. Hoping there's time for a nap before I start on dinner. 

We have a cloudy day with a high of -9 C and the chance of more flurries. It was only a few degrees warmer today, but it felt so much better. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.