-7 C/19 F

The weatherman has
let me down again - no sun
has appeared today!

~carliewired

I left the house after 11 AM when I was tired of waiting for that promised sunshine. There was light snow falling and it was a very calm, but grey -8 C. I picked up my second cup of coffee on the way to McArthur Island.

I drove into the park at the east entrance. No sooner had I turned onto the loop road, when I spied deer along the Rivers Trail beside the slough.
I paused in the loop road, rolled down my passenger window and took a shot of the young buck appearing over the trail. It seems a bit comical as though he's talking to someone. The little bunch quickly moved down the other side of the trail and out of my sight. 

I drove over to the west side of the park where the Canada geese have taken over the playing fields in great numbers. It looks like a miserable way to spend a night, but I don't know what geese can endure.

I continued on to the southeast side of the park to get a shot of the slough on that side. There's only a trickle of water moving through it and out to the river. 

As I walked back to my car, I spied the deer on the Rivers Trail once again. They seem to be able to find food where the snow has melted away. I walked along the trail to get some photos of them. A walker came along in my direction, but the deer seem completely undisturbed by him. The little band of five, a buck and four does, continued on. 

I was home before lunch and here I will stay. I will carry on with my sorting. A nap would be most welcome this afternoon. 

We have a cloudy day with a chance of flurries and a high of -7 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.