Christmas is coming....

and I suspect more than the goose will be getting fat!

So yesterday evening after a lovely catch up with so many old friends, Karen and I went back with Joanne to her lovely home to continue our chatting. We were home at 8.30 but not in bed before 12.30!

This morning a bit more chatting over breakfast. The 3 of us have been saving up to do a special trip somewhere when 'we' turn 60. My lovely friends turn 60 within a month of each other, in just over a years time. I will have 2 more years beyond that. So we discussed when would be a good time to go, and are thinking early summer 2024. We are still pondering on the 'where'. We want an interesting city break. Ideas?

Karen and I left at 11, going in opposite directions. I always love weekends with these girls. How can we be approaching 60? I was 23 when I met them both in 1989. Cambridgeshire CC Pensions had its low points - but meeting people who have become some of my best friends has been the best.

I got home at 12.30 and was greeted by Mollie, Henry our giant Christmas tree and a giant box of decorations filling the small lounge space! However, they did a great job of decorating the room and tree, and it now feels very festive. Mollie took this photo from the stairs, which makes the room and sofa look very long with the wide angle lense. But you only have to look at the length of the piano to see how stretched everything is. It is cosy!

Walked up to the allotment with Jon, then spent the afternoon watching Elf. Always the start of Christmas with this very silly film.

Cooked dinner, and made a whole cauliflower cheese. I wanted it whole because it was such a lovely shaped veg! We had it with gammon steaks.

Now heading to bed for an early night. I want and NEED to finish Wuthering Heights so that I can get back on track with a normal book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.