Day out in Narromine and Dubbo

I stayed with my sister MsPeahen last night and this morning we drove west to Narromine to check out the art display in the converted Orange Packing Shed which now houses a cafe, gift shop and displays local art. S had one painting there, the theme was “Inside the square” and they were all painted in a square format. We checked them out, chose our favourites and then had brunch.

The jacaranda trees were in full bloom so I took some photos near the Catholic Church (St Augustine’s) and then tried to locate the building where I had music lessons from the age of about 5. The Convent of Mercy had been done up and was an office, the other abbey is now a guesthouse. I really couldn’t decide which place was where I was reprimanded by the Nuns who scared me every week (See extras).

Next we drove into Dubbo where I was going to catch the train back home. We stopped at the Cultural precinct which is my old High School. I wandered around thinking of how it has changed. I poked my head into the science block - my favourite subject was science and I remembered my teacher Mr Ryan. Then we checked out the art gallery where there was a disturbing display of “the hunted and the hunters” - gruesome. The art was well executed - excuse the pun. The subject matter didn’t appeal. 

My main is two deck chairs made from old road signs. One is to Adelaide and Broken Hill, the other to Ivanhoe and Hay. We weren’t sure if they were art or somewhere to sit. The extra shows them from behind. 

Now I’m home after an uneventful trip on the train. I spoke to a lovely tourist from France at the station and then had an interesting geologist sitting next to me for the journey. He was easier to take than yesterday’s companion who had “I’m not just f*****g spiders” on his hat. Maybe he wore it just so he didn’t have to chat to old ladies on the train. 

PS. Does anyone know what the pink flowers are in the extra? It looked like a shrub up to 5 metres. Never seen it before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.