Tiny Tree

Spike decided it was time to get up at 5:30 this morning. Fortunately he doesn't do it often. I got up, fed him and let him outside in the pitch dark. He doesn't care, but I do, so I let him get on with it, hoping he didn't encounter a skunk, while I made myself some coffee. We both got back in bed where I enjoyed watching the world wake up.

After a good Zoom Pilates class (the teacher, Maggie, said she enjoyed teaching classes when her students were concentrating so well) we took Spike for his walk up the hill to the meadow. It had rained during the night and we hustled up there before it rained again, as the clouds were coming up behind the hills.* It was a grand day for tiny mosses and lichens and I especially liked this tiny alien landscape. I'm tagging it for Tiny Tuesday even though I didn't want to turn my mini landscape to mono....

We wrestled the Christmas tree into the stand...acrobatics required to screw in the bolts that hold the tree upright, not to mention a certain amount of hand and finger dexterity...stood back to admire our handiwork and realized that we were going to have to move it in order to plug in the lights. Further acrobatics ensued but light was achieved eventually and we ate lunch to restore ourselves before wrapping the lights . I didn't get the impression that John appreciated my efforts to direct the placement so I left him to it. When he was finished I told him I almost liked it better with just the lights and no ornaments. Considering we picked it out in three minutes, I think we did a good job.

Our contractor, Mike, who happens to be Kathy's husband, is going to be rebuilding our porch/deck off the kitchen with fire safe materials. His welder, Roger, came by today to measure for the metal railings around it plus a couple of other small railings. They will all be black metal. Turns out he is also a firefighter, so we had a lot of stories. But then, everyone has stories....

*extra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.