Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Threatening

It was lovely this morning.  I knew I should have made the effort to go out for the sunrise.  This blip is what was on offer this evening.  We have had teasing fat drops but it has amounted to nothing.  Still, there may be some actual rain overnight, lets hope so as the garden is getting dry again.

Maggy and I visited our second nursing home we visit this morning.  It was pandemonium.   The lifestyle manager had resigned and someone else had taken over the reins but had no idea what had been booked so was surprised when Maggy and I turned up at 10 am together with a husband and wife team of entertainers.   He played electric guitar and she played acoustic.  Maggy and I sat in for a bit of the concert.  I wish I could post the photo of her sitting on a chair in a line of residents getting patted but I don't have their permission to do so.  The entertainers sang a bit of country and some old time favourites and some carols.   Well rounded.   A lady down the front who is quite with it but very opinionated (she always tells me not to let anyone feed Maggy and checks what I am feeding her) was singing away on a song she was hoping the entertainers would pick up however they missed her cue and started something else.  She was quietly spoken to by a nurse as he could see what had happened.    Another lady was getting some renovations done in her room and was in tears in the dining room "look what they have done to my room" she wailed.  I could not distract her with patting Maggy but other residents were consoling her. They were short on staff too so I felt very sorry for the staff that were there trying to juggle everything.  It's not an easy life keeping everything running smoothly.

Back home and then over to my Aunt in the other nursing home.  I took her to the bank and went through some questions with her that the home have asked me because she turns 100 on 11 January and there is going to be a big celebration although she rolled her eyes and said she would stay in her room.

And now this evening I feel exhausted.  I think it will be an early night for me.  Well done if you have got this far.  I felt I needed to record the events in the nursing home today although I do reports to our admin after each visit.  This was more for my records.

I'll catch you in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.