An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Woman at work...

And the woman in question is local artist Gail Robertson who painted our house back in 2017 :-). I absolutely adore her work and we've since become friends. 

I saw on her FB page last week that she is involved in a Craft Show at The Bield, Tibbermore near Perth, for a week from Saturday 3rd December.  The only day this week I was able to go was today and that happened to be the day she was there, so that was a happy coincidence.

We arrived just after 10.30am to find Gail painting.  A good use of time :-)  Chatted for a while then D and I wandered round the hall.  There was a lovely selection of goods on sale from paintings, ceramics, glassware, jewellery, stone sculptures, lamps, Christmas decorations, felted goods to name a few.  I could have bought loads of things but restricted myself to Christmas shopping, although I did sneak in a little felted Christmas tree that I particularly liked :-)

As we were about to leave David mentioned that he really liked one of the stone carvings on display by Neil Paterson, a stone carver from Alyth in Perthshire.  I laughed because I had secretly admired the same one.  We went back to the display and looked at it again.  And looked at each other.  And looked at it again.  And each other.  It cost more than we had planned to spend. We looked at it again.  "It's your birthday on the 16th and I haven't bought you anything yet" I said.  "It's your birthday in January and I haven't bought you anything yet" D replied.  A moments silence.  Looked at each other again.  "Joint birthday gift?" we said in unison.

And that's how we became the proud owner of a rather unusual stone carving called The Green Man, who  will take pride of place in the garden (if only we can agree where to put him!) :-))) and will no doubt be blipped at some point :D 

We had hoped to pop into Gloagburn for coffee and a scone before heading home, but we'd spent so much time at the craft show we had to head straight home so D could help with Alan and Andrew's swimming session.  Much hilarity coming from the pool direction.

After lunch they all headed out to the Five Sisters Zoo Illuminations whilst I spent time in the studio painting a Christmas gonk as part of Alan's Christmas (a little stocking filler from his mum :-)  as well as one or two other small pieces.

They were having dinner whilst they were out so being feral when I am on my own, I had beans on toast.  

The gang arrived home full of the joys, glad to be in from the cold!  Alan and  Andrew settled down to watch Home Alone and I got my online Tesco order done.  

Andrew goes home tomorrow so of course a chunk of this evening was spent arranging dates for his next visit.  We settled on 7th - 9th February and he was quick to tell us that's only nine Tuesdays away! :-))

In other news...17 sleeps!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.