Old College

Another early start as I was heading to the office.  The bus felt quiet today, probably because the teachers are on strike again, so schools are closed.   Work was very busy, a morning of back to back meetings, some more tricky than others.  It was broken by a dusting of snow, which turned Edinburgh into a winter wonderland.  The view out of the window over the old town was just lovely with all the white roofs.
 
Just as I was getting ready to leave for my team Christmas lunch, a colleague called me over to discuss a few anomalies she found in some information we have been pulling together.  We tried to work things out but failed, so called a colleague who agreed that something had gone wrong in the data.  I left the two of them sorting it out and ran off to meet everyone in the restaurant.  We went for a curry.  It was all very nice and so nice to all be together.  Our table was in an “alcove” and the table behind us were empty, so it felt like we were in our own private dining room.  I came back to the office late afternoon, while everyone else went off to the pub to meet up with other colleagues.
 
I almost regretted coming back to the office, as there was so much going on.  I had one thing I had to do before I left and eventually got to it, after dealing with a whole load of other stuff.  It’s becoming a bit of a habit to leave later than I had intended.  I could have gone to the pub to meet up with everyone, but really I just wanted to get home.
 
When I got off the bus the  pavements were treacherous as they were very icy. I walked very slowly and carefully up the hill to home.  At least the boys  had managed to get a calculator – so BB is all set for his exam tomorrow.  TT had worked from home today as he was waiting on the plumber, who didn’t come.  He is coming tomorrow.
 
This is an early morning view over to Old College, before the snow.
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.