RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

Off-plan

So there I was, out and about enjoying my couple of days away in Manchester, and I spotted an email from the builder [brackets are mine]: 

13:08 Builder
Heating engineer [on site for the first time] has said the cupboard [designed by the architect] is too small for the [hot water] cylinder. 
Few choices. Lose part of the detail at the end of the bath and reduce bath by 100mm - shorter bath - or build a bigger cupboard protruding slightly into landing. 
Please can you confirm which you'd prefer. 

Neither. Absolutely neither. We found somewhere to sit down and I loaded the house plans onto my phone while Secondborn calmed me down and bought me coffee and lunch.

14:18 Me
I've now looked at drawings.
I would probably prefer cupboard to protrude 100mm onto landing and not lose bath length but could you tell me how wide the corridor is?
Does the cupboard need to be wider as well as deeper?
If it helps I could visit site on Wed or Thur before 9 or after 3.30 or any time on Friday.

14:25  Builder
Width is fine. Just depth. 

14:35 Architect
Updated drawings attached.
The landing should currently be 950mm wide. Building Control require a minimum of 900mm. 

14:38 me
This means I can't protrude square onto the landing. Could angling the cupboard door work?

14:45 Architect
You can narrow to min 750mm at pinch points (radiators etc.) so you could step the wall or angle it slightly, although that won’t look as good as a flat wall.

16:17 Builder
Cupboard is already quite a bit deeper for the wider bath supplied by [me]. Issue is it's longer than designed for so the cupboard had to shrink. 
We can borrow 100mm from the other end of the bath which increases the width by another 100mm but not sure it'll still be wide enough. 
Will confirm tomorrow. 

18:21 Builder
We can get another 100mm by reducing the size of the stuff at the bath end. 

18:27 me
That would be good, if doable.

End of exchanges, but three days later...

13:29 Builder's colleague
I am emailing to see if you have made any decisions on the cylinder cupboard size. We will need to adjust it very soon as we can’t continue with the membrane.
I have attached a picture and it shows that the cupboard is fine width wise but not deep enough. An easy solution is to eat into the bath space and put a smaller bath in or we come out into the landing which is doable as well but will make the detail around the door a bit trickier.
 
14:35 me
I thought that (Builder) had said we could gain enough space by moving the bath nearer the party wall and that's what I agreed to, ie not narrowing the landing. 
If that won't work after all I can measure a bath at 4pm and get back to you soon after with my definitive preferred solution.

14:56 Builder
It isn't enough unfortunately. 

16:28 me
Would a 1700x800 bath fit? If so I'll buy one that size and not use the one that's in the garden.

No answer has appeared to that question. I suspect the cupboard has been remade and I'll find out later what size bath will fit.
So now I can't use the bath I already had and the two sinks I already had have been stolen...


You will see from the drawing that the architect had positioned the rooflight above the loo. It is now magnificently above the bath though, in the light of the above (sorry), unfortunately now the wrong size.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.