An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

On the naughty list!

I am never cold.  I am always warm or too warm, yet over the last few of days I have been cold to the point of putting one of my crochet blankets over my legs.  

This morning I woke up with cold feet.  I have no memory of ever having cold feet in bed!  I was beginning to think there was something wrong with me when my friend Eileen posted on FB that she was also feeling the cold, then another friend messaged me to say she was cold to the bone.  Not just me then.

David headed off to the vet with Lola after lunch to have her eyes checked.  R said on Friday he thought her eyes looked a bit cloudy.  We checked on Saturday and I agreed but D couldn't see it.  

D texted me before they left the vet to say the outcome was Lola has early stage sclerosis in the lens.  The vet is unconcerned as it's a normal part of ageing.  Whilst that is a relief, I am shocked that at 5, Lola is considered middle aged.  She is still (and I suppose always will be) my baby girl!  

She was very well behaved at the Vets, partly because of all the attention she got from the receptionists, but mainly due to the delicious liver pate the vet used to bribe her as she put dye in her eyes!  

A walk on the moor in the snow on the way home and she returned happy and tired and snoozed for the rest of the day :-))

Got sad news this afternoon from my (second) cousin Graham to say his mum Mary has passed away.  It wasn't unexpected as she was in her late 80s and had been ill for a little while.  

I have such fond memories of her from my childhood and many happy hours spent at her and my uncle's house (they weren't my real aunt and uncle.  Graham's dad and my mum were full cousins, but they were aunt and uncle to me)  

She always reminded me of Scottish singer and Generation Game co-host Isla St Clair, and I remember when I was about 10 I told her this.  I remember being taken aback by how flattered she was by me saying this, as as far as I was concerned, I was just stating fact.  Of course as an adult I understand her delight :-)  Graham will be back in touch with the funeral arrangements.

Passing Alan's sitting room earlier today and I noticed there were now three stockings hanging on his fireplace.  Awwww cute.  Mum, Dad and Alan I assumed.  How wrong I was!  On closer inspection it's Dad, Alan and "The Dog!"  

Oh dear, looks like I'm on the naughty list!!  Surely a mistake! :-o

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.