Winter

It was back to my laptop this morning.  I knew I could only work until 12noon at the latest, and it was just after noon when I escaped, leaving colleagues to take things forward.  BB and TT were pacing, so yet again I had a very quick change and was rushing out the door,  We were heading down to the Borders for a pre-birthday lunch for TT. 
 
It was a beautiful drive in a winter wonderland, but the roads were not fabulous.  I was very glad that TT was driving.  I was going to drive back, but decided against that.  We had a really lovely lunch – with both TT and BB having the festive turkey option.  TT went the whole hog and had three courses finishing with Christmas pudding.  BB and I were a little more restrained and passed on pudding.  We then went for a  wee walk to Mainstreet Trading, the most lovely bookshop, deli and café in St Boswells.  I bought a couple of books for gifts.
 
Given the state of the roads we decided not to hang around too much and all too soon, we were heading back up the A68.  The roads back home were in a bit better condition and we were reassured that we were driving somewhere behind a grittier.  The traffic was not going fast due to that, but there is always some nutter who is impatient and so someone decided to overtake us and the line of traffic in front of us, when there was a double line in the middle of the road.  So dangerous.
 
I checked in with work when I got back, then popped out for some provisions.
 
It was then home to bake a birthday cake for TT.  He requested a chocolate Guinness cake.
 
I took this snow scene from the car on our way south.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.