I was not hit by a car tonight

I was not hit by a car tonight.
It was close.
Yelling is good.
Samuel was on the other side of me so he would have been fine.
I was in the crosswalk.
I had the light. 
Don't tell Karen.

I didn't even curse.

Other than that I had a good day. The difficult stuff people have been doing is over now. My boss got stuck with a miserable job - he had to attend that 10 pm meeting Monday night. This afternoon he asked how I was and I said I didn't want to tell him because if I said I was fine he'd be jealous and it seemed wrong to be fine when everyone else was suffering. Aren't you glad you don't have a smartass working for you? 

A movie star came to the event. Would you stand in line for a selfie depending on who the movie star was? Have you stood in line for an autograph? 

Nestle is going to invest $42.9M to launch a new production facility in western Ukraine. This is a big deal. No one else has invested in Ukraine (not strictly speaking true but close enough) since the recent invasion, the economy is projected to shrink by 35% this year, and they have regular blackouts thanks to Russia. Nestle already has 5,800 staff in Ukraine and will add 1,500 more. 

Ukraine repelled a wave of drones Wednesday, knocking out at least 13. Russia is running out of its own missiles so they are buying drones from Iran and they are cheaper. This is why we are giving Ukraine patriot missiles. 

George Orwell's 1984 is a huge hit in Russia. It was the most popular fiction download from online Russian bookseller LitRes. It also hit the bestseller list in Belarus. 

From an opinion piece:  "The US has two key strategic competitors - russia and China - and the less influence these autocratic states are able to exert over their neighbors, the less likely it is that American soldiers will ever need to be deployed to defend democracy in places such as Poland, the Baltic states, Taiwan, or Japan. Speaking pragmatically, the US has thus far provided Ukraine with aid totaling 3 percent of the Pentagon's annual military budget. Without the loss of a single active-duty American soldier, roughly 50 percent of Russia's pre-Feb 24 military potential has been destroyed. 

The US has sent our first shipment of power gear to Ukraine. Two more planeloads will leave this week. Dozens of nations and institutions pledged more than $1b to provide support during the winter. More than $40 m of that is expected to go to the energy network. 

Be careful with the ice tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.