Polder Windmill, Geldermalsen

Hurrah for fab weather for the hunt!
Hurrah for my taking time out from correction work!

If you will look closely, you'll see the dusting of (stubborn) frost on the top and on the 'slopes' of the reed roof.

A grand specimen of a mill!  Built in 1772, 250 years old this year.  Hard to believe when you look at it, I think.  The path to it is terribly narrow and I knew I just couldn't leave the car on it and block whoever else might need to be in the area, so I left again and parked close to the provincial road.  The windmill is in an industrial area with several fruit-processing factories.  I wanted a frontal shot, so walked first on the bicycle path parallel to the provincial road, but it was just a bit too far away to be appreciated, so I walked back the way I'd come, up to the mill itself and took several close-ups.  Then I spotted the old rusty gate leading to the fields directly in front of it.  No one around?  Well, then, a quick climb over the gate and I found myself on a frost-covered field and all the freedom and space to take more shots.  The extra is my favourite frontal of this mill.

Back to correction work when I got home.  AW has a cold so no bridge for him tonight.  It will be a busy day tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.